Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra: making great music personal

persian treasure

  • Prokofiev Symphony No. 1 in D major, “Classical,” Op. 25 (1917)
  • Reza Vali Toward that Endless Plain, concerto for the Persian ney listen
  • Mendelssohn Symphony No. 5 in D major, “Reformation,” Op. 107 (1832)

Be moved by the emotional power of Reza Vali’s exotic concerto for
the Persian ney and the deep spirituality of Mendelssohn’s
“Reformation” Symphony. Our virtuosic musicians perform Prokofiev’s
“Classical” Symphony with trademark panache.

Vali’s Toward that Endless Plain “uses the orchestra…interactively as a part of a scenario based on a Persian mystical poem. The piece is resourcefully made and
compelling in effect; the ney part was played with passion and imagination by Khosrow Soltani.” The Boston Globe

special note

LACO plays Prokofiev’s “Classical” Symphony on its 2008 European Tour.

About the Persian ney:
A forerunner of the modern flute, the ney has been played continuously for 4,500-5,000 years, making it one of the oldest instruments still in use. Depictions of ney players appear in wall paintings in the Egyptian pyramids, and actual neys have been found in the excavations at Ur.

The ney consists of a hollow cane or reed (Ney is the old Persian word for reed)with finger holes. More modern neys may be made of metal.

Its compelling sound, unlike that of any other wind instrument, comes from the unique way it is blown. The upper edge of the ney is placed between the two upper front teeth,
inside the mouth. A small stream of air is directed with the tongue, and the upper lip surrounds the upper part of the ney.

Moving the lip and tongue changes the pitch and tone quality. This technique is very difficult to learn, but once mastered, gives great control over the timbre.
—Kees van den Doel

read the Program Notes

pre-concert program

Join us for Concert Preludes and hear the stories behind the music. One hour before curtain; FREE to all ticket holders.

box office info

Call Jacquie or Kristy in the box office at 213 622 7001 × 215.


This concert is part of our Orchestral Series. Subscription prices:
Section A – $525; B – $455, C – $287; D – $182; E – $115.50 (Section C seats discounted to $252 for seniors 65+ and college students. One per valid ID. Please call.)

Subscriptions available by phone only. Single tickets available online now.

broadcast info

The broadcast of this performance is made possible by generous gifts from the Los Angeles Philanthropic Committee for the Arts and the Farhang Foundation: The Iranian-American Heritage Foundation of Southern California.

  • Korea Times
  • KCRW
  • Radio Seoul
  • K-TAN TV
  • Jeffrey Kahane Jeffrey Kahane

    photo Michael Burke

  • Khosrow Soltani Khosrow Soltani

    Photo: Boston Modern Orchestra Project

Reza Vali’s participation in tonight’s Concert Preludes is funded in part through Meet The Composer’s MetLife Creative Connections program.

If you’d like to sponsor a LACO performance or artist, click here for information.

viagra for sale cheap uk, xanax prescriptions online, http://www.laco.org/tramadol-100mg-overnight/