MARTÍN Y COLL/ANONYMOUS Diferencias sobre la gayta
ANONYMOUS Sonata Chiquitana IV
DE MURCIA Gallardas

Curated by LACO Principal Keyboard Patricia Mabee, Episode 1 explores Baroque works and Baroque-inspired composers originating from Bolivia, Mexico and Spain.

The composers featured on tonight’s Border Crossings Part 1” broadcast come from different centuries and countries. The earliest known composer in the group is Santiago de Murcia who was born around 1682 in Spain. The latest composer is José Enrique González-Medina, who currently lives in Mexico City, where he composes and teaches composition and harmony at the Escuela Superior de Música in the Centro Nacional de las Artes. The remaining composers on the program are believed to have originated from Spain and Bolivia. LACO Principal Keyboard Patricia Mabee leads a harpsichord program that indeed crosses borders, as the name of this concert suggests. 

Spanish guitarist and composer Santiago de Murcia (c. 1682-1740) mainly wrote music for the guitar and also published Resumen de acompañar, a comprehensive treatise on playing the instrument in an ensemble. One of his musical collections, the Saldívar Codex, contains de Murcia’s versions of many Spanish dances. It is the earliest known written source for the dances la jotafandango, and cumbé. 

José Enrique González Medina (b. 1954) grew up in Tijuana, where he was surrounded by music at family gatherings. He studied music formally in Mexico City, where he learned more about the music of his country. Medina was fascinated with both the folk traditions and more cultivated art music of Mexico. The diversity of these influences has informed his work throughout his career. The titles of many of his pieces refer specifically to places in Mexico or in Baja California. For six years, Medina hosted a bilingual program on KUSC that presented Latin American concert music. His music touches both the past and present histories of Mexican musicConcierto barroco was premiered in 2003 by Pacific Serenades, the ensemble which commissioned the piece. 

Orchestral Series

Join "America's finest chamber orchestra" for a seven concert series that showcases the ensemble’s trademark mix of regal classics and music from today’s leading composers.

Baroque Conversations

Explore the genesis of the Baroque repertoire with this three concert series. Legendary musicians introduce the works from the stage and engage the audience in short, compelling talks.

In Focus: Beethoven

Margaret Batjer curator

Join concertmaster Margaret Batjer for a three concert series of remarkable chamber works by one of the most recognized and influential musicians of any period: Beethoven.