This eight minute biography on LACO conductor laureate Jeffrey Kahane touches on family history, personal lows and personal highs for the renowned conductor and keyboardist. Equally at home at the keyboard or on the podium, Jeffrey has established an international reputation as a truly versatile artist, recognized by audiences around the world for his mastery of a diverse repertoire ranging from Bach, Mozart and Beethoven to Gershwin, Golijov and John Adams.

Frank Stiefel Producer & Director

Ben Marias Director of Photography

Eric Friedenberg Editor

With thanks to the entire Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra

This project would not have been possible without the following donors:

Friend of LACO
Lynda Kahane & Phil Welch
Linda & Stuart Nelson

With very special thanks to
Pat & Sandy Gage and Ruth Eliel.

Kahane, who stepped down as LACO music director in June 2017 after a 20-year tenure, makes his first appearance in his new role as the Orchestra’s conductor laureate with the West Coast premiere of Pierre Jalbert’s Violin Concerto, featuring LACO concertmaster Margaret Batjer. A co-commission by LACO, St. Paul Chamber Orchestra and Minnesota Orchestra, Jalbert’s work was written specifically for the three orchestras’ concertmasters.

Kahane Returns!

sat mar 17 @ 8 pm Alex Theatre

sun mar 18 @ 7 pm Royce Hall

Jeffrey Kahane conductor
Margaret Batjer violin

Respighi Three Botticelli Pictures
approximately 18 min
Pierre Jalbert Violin Concerto (LACO co-commission, West Coast premiere)
approximately 26 min
Haydn Symphony No. 99 in E-flat major
approximately 25 min

part of the orchestral series

S E S S I O N spiva

Produced in collaboration with Four Larks, SESSION featured the world premiere of The Body Overcome by Derrick Spiva Jr, hindustani vocalist Saili Oak, a US premiere by composer Juan Pablo Contreras and works by Conor Brown, Salina Fisher and Reena Esmail.

join us:
Sound Investment

Have you ever listened to a favorite symphony and wondered what shaped the composer’s ideas? How the orchestra players reacted upon first reading the new score? How the composer felt as musicians finally gave sonic life to notes on paper?

You can get answers when you commission a new work of music through Sound Investment.

LA Orchestra Fellowship

The LA Orchestra Fellowship is a two-year orchestra intensive for musicians on violin, viola, and cello.

Fellows are mentored in chamber and orchestral performance and gain invaluable experience while training and playing alongside Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra musicians, faculty at USC Thornton and mentor members of the Inner City Youth Orchestra of Los Angeles.