Connie Kupka

violin II

Violin Connie Kupka, a native Angelino, grew up in a music-loving family along with two other siblings, both of whom are also performers.

After graduating from UCLA, she won a scholarship to study chamber music with the Guarneri Quartet at the Yale Summer Festival in Norfolk, Connecticut. The experience created a lifelong passion for chamber music (and orchestras), and inspired her and her future husband, cellist David Speltz, to form their own ensemble, the Arriaga Quartet. The group went on to win the grand prize in the prestigious Coleman Chamber Ensemble Competition and was able to tour with a broad range of offerings from the magnificent quartet repertoire.

Summers always find Connie participating in many of the wonderful festivals throughout the country. She has performed at the Oregon Bach and Mostly Mozart festivals; the Santa Fe and Grand Canyon chamber music festivals; and the Ojai, Colorado and Sedona Jam music festivals. In Los Angeles, she regularly performs on the South Bay Chamber Music Society and Pacific Serenades series.

She and David are the proud parents of three sons who grew up attending Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra concerts, two of them now pursue musical careers of their own. Connie loves performing with them at local chamber music venues.

Connie has enjoyed being a member of the LACO family these many years and looks forward to this season’s musical offerings and performances.

2019-20 Sound Investment Composer: Juan Pablo Contreras

Each season, Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra commissions and premieres a new piece of music composed especially to suit its unparalleled musical talents. “Investors” are invited to a series of intimate salons where they meet the composer, hear excerpts of the score-in-progress and attend a full orchestral rehearsal of the completed work.

new season, new friends

Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra’s vibrant and engaging 2019-20 Orchestral Series showcases the ensemble’s remarkable artistry and trademark mix of regal classics and music from today’s leading composers.

adventure pack: regal classics

Join Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra for a budget-friendly three concert journey through European music history showcasing the undisputed cornerstones of orchestral repertoire including Bach’s Orchestral Suites Nos. 1 & 3 as well as works by Mozart, Handel and Haydn.